Summer Solstice: Hopscotching Through Great Reads and Great Food

Summer officially arrives today. Here in the Midwest, summer usually starts long before June 21st, but not this year. With warm weather finally in the forecast, it’s time to kick back, have a cool sip, some tasty tidbits, and most of all a good read. One of my fondest memories is going to the library as a young adult and hauling home armfuls of books. My mother would have to drag me off the the couch in the dimming light to eat dinner.

Today, I take part in a scavenger hunt of sorts, for great food and drink and wonderful summer reads. Hopefully, as you jump back and forth through the menu listed below and to Linda Joyce’s blog for the secret ingredients, you’ll find yourself torn between rushing into the kitchen or dashing off to the bookstore. Just do both! Remember that if you want to keep it simple for summer, my book, Three Ingredient Cocktails, is your Bible-to-Imbibe.

Bon Appetit, Cheers, and Happy Reading!

p.s. after you get your list of ingredients at Linda Joyce’s blog, scroll to the bottom for your instructions on how to make the perfect cocktail for summer: A Blackberry Gin & Tonic

Cocktails

Blackberry Gin and Tonic by J.K. O’Hanlon -Three Ingredient Cocktails ~ www.thirstyjane.com

Pomegranate Martini by Kathy L Wheeler – Quotable ~ http://kathylwheeler.com

Appetizer

Japanese Chicken Wings by Jan Morrill -The Red Kimono ~ www.TheRedKimono.com

Sweet & Sour Hawaiian Meatballs by Vonnie Davis – Rain Is A Love Song ~ http://www.vintagevonnie.blogspot.com

Easy Stuffed Mushrooms by Alicia Dean – Liberty Awakened (Isle of Fangs, Book 1) ~http://aliciadean.com/alicias-blog/

Salad

7 Layer Salad by AJ Nuest – She’s Got Dibs ~ http://ajbooks.blogspot.com/

Mandarin orange & spinach salad by Barbara Barrett – And He Cooks Too ~www.barbarabarrettbooks.com

Entrée

Pesto Chicken by Nancy Parra – Gluten for Punishment ~ www.nancyjparra.blogspot.com

Taquitos by Calisa Rhose – Risk Factors ~ http://calisarhose.com/chit-chat/

Linda’s Summer Shrimp Boil by Linda Joyce – Bayou Born ~ http://lindajoycecontemplates.wordpress.com/

Oven Fried peach chicken Juli D. Revezzo – The Artist’s Inheritance ~ http://julidrevezzo.com/blog/

Betty’s Nutty Pork Chops by Betty Bolte – Hometown Heroines ~ www.bettybolte.com/blog.htm

Dessert

Kolaches by Gina Hooten Popp – The Storm After ~ https://www.facebook.com/ginahootenpoppauthor

Chocolate-Cherry-Coconut Cupcakes by Luna Zega – Tokyo Tease ~ http://lunazega.com/cupcakes.html

Fruit Compote by Brenda Sparks – A Midsummer Night’s Demon ~http://www.brenda-sparks.com/blog.html

After Dinner Drinks

After Dinner Iced Coffee by Sandra Sookoo – Winging It ~ http://sandrasookoo.wordpress.com/

 

Blackberry Gin & Tonic

Add ice to a highball glass

Add in gin, lime juice and blackberry shrub

Top with tonic water

 

 

 

Comments are closed.